Government of Ireland
Regional Skills

We've moved to

Please update your bookmarks and links

South East Technological University Established

2 May 2022 



The south east has its first university after the South East Technological University (SETU) was officially established on 1st May 2022.

The university saw the amalgamation of Institute of Technology Carlow and Waterford Institute of Technology and the university becomes the fifth Technological University established in Ireland.

The Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science, Simon Harris designated Professor Veronica Campbell as the inaugural president of the new TU and this was ratified by the governing body of the SETU.

The SETU will be a multi-campus university with campuses in Waterford, Carlow, Wexford, Kilkenny and Wicklow. Courses offered will include engineering, science, business, computing, sport and humanities on a full-time and part-time basis.