Higher Education


Ranked in the top 2% of universities in the world, University College Cork has 21,000+ undergraduate, postgraduate and adult continuing education students.  The university is home to 4 colleges with a series of schools & departments associated with each:

  • College of Arts Celtic Studies & Social Sciences which houses the Schools of: Applied Psychology; Applied Social Studies; Education; English; History; Human Environment: Geography, Archaeology & Classics; Irish Learning; Languages, Literature & Cultures; Film, Music & Theatre; & Society Politics & Ethics
  • College of Science, Engineering & Food Science which houses the Schools of: Biochemistry & Cell Biology; Biological, Earth & Environmental Sciences; Chemistry; Computer Science & IT; Food & Nutritional
    Sciences; Engineering: Mathematical Sciences; Microbiology; & the Department of Physics, and associated research centres
  • College of Medicine & Health which houses the Schools of: Medicine; Dentistry; Nursing & Midwifery; Clinical Therapies; & Pharmacy
  • College of Business & Law which houses: Cork University Business School; School of Law; & associated research centres

Adult Continuing Education (ACE) has been offering part-time education programmes to Cork, Munster, and beyond since 1946 and is proud to celebrate over 70 years of educational services to the community.

Centre for Continuing Professional Development (CPD) is the systematic maintenance, improvement and broadening of knowledge, skills and competencies, and the development of personal and professional qualities, necessary for the execution of professional duties throughout the practitioners working life.


Named as Institute of Technology of the Year in The Sunday Times University Guide for Ireland, the Cork Institute of Technology, currently has 12,000+ students. It is comprised of two Faculties and three Colleges. Research is also a core dimension of CIT activity.

  • The Faculty of Engineering and Science houses within the Engineering School: Electronics, Mechanical, Biomedical, Chemical, Civil, Structural and Environmental, Sustainable Energy, Building Services, Construction, Electrical Engineering, and Craft Studies; and within the Science School: Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Chemistry, Applied Physics and Instrumentation, and Computing.
  • The Faculty of Business and Humanities houses Accounting & Information Systems, Organisation & Professional Development, Management & Enterprise and Marketing & International Business.
  • The Colleges are: the CIT Crawford College of Art and Design, the CIT Cork School of Music and the National Maritime College of Ireland which provides training and education for the Merchant Marine and the non-military needs of the Irish Naval Service (INS).
  • The NIMBUS Centre: CIT's first dedicated research centre, provides space for up to 80 researchers. Company researchers can work in close collaboration with NIMBUS staff and use its research facilities. It is intended to showcase CIT's research and demonstrate its ability to translate innovative research into economic benefit.
  • The Rubicon Centre: Ireland's premier Business Incubation Centre, provides access to a wide range of Start-up Supports for Entrepreneurs.


The Institute of Technology Tralee, established in 1977 as the Regional Technical College, Tralee, became the Institute of Technology, Tralee in 1992. The Institute currently has 3,500 full & part-time students and operates on two campus locations: the South Campus located in Clash and the North Campus located in Dromtacker. It comprises 3 Schools in its campus home to a number of Departments:

The Long Life Learning Department in IT Tralee offers courses from Level 6 to 9. View also links to the LLL Prospectus and information on Fees, Mature Students and more.